Posted in Faith (Bahá'i), Life, napowrimo, Poems, Writing

Insight

I look into this hotel mirror
and what do I see?
Wet hair
green/brown eyes
green clothes
a round face
a molded face
molded lips with a nose to follow
hidden freckles beneath the blur

I see a girl about to graduate
a girl about to enter the next door
in her hallway of possibilities

I'm seventeen years-old
I'm a Baha'i
which has shaped me into who I am

I see puberty almost done
I see a woman almost grown
with an ever-expanding mind
I see a broken-hearted daughter trying to heal from her sick father's words

I see the girl who wishes every guy would fight over her
be utterly chivalrous to her
a hopeless romantic wanting to find her mate

I see dreams
I see hopes 
I see pain I see heartache
I see a woman growing in a hate-filled world

I see wet curls that won't last till morning
I see want and desire
I see a glint of hope
so much love
so much that's offered
while all you hafta do is take

I feel tears about to fall from hurtful...

Night is when I'm most inspired
but it's also my worst enemy
at Night
I take away the smiles and lighter
I take away the giggles and hugs
I take away the swiss cheese mask
and what do I see?
What do I hate?
What am I afraid to face?

Me.

Originally written 31 November 2003
Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

