Posted in Family, Life, Parenting

New York Times: Raising a Moral Child

Dearest Readers,

I found this article on Facebook today, and after reading it, I wanted to share this article. It is from the New York Times, entitled “Raising a Moral Child.” I, myself, have been having behavior issues with my own preschooler. This article, with all its sources and links, seems to be rather accurate from just my parental experience. I plan to try to remember/remind myself of this wonderful information in order to try to have my child behave better at daycare with his friends–mostly not interrupting his classmates and/or the teachers while they work. Also, I would love suggestions from anyone that may have experience with behavior difficulties in toddlers. Thank you!

Cordially Yours,

Laili

What does it take to be a good parent? We know some of the tricks for teaching kids to become high achievers. For example, research suggests that when parents praise effort rather than ability, children develop a stronger work ethic and become more motivated.

Yet although some parents live vicariously through their children’s accomplishments, success is not the No. 1 priority for most parents. We’re much more concerned about our children becoming kind, compassionate and helpful. Surveys reveal that in the United States, parents from European, Asian, Hispanic and African ethnic groups all place far greater importance on caring than achievement. These patterns hold around the world: When people in 50 countries were asked to report their guiding principles in life, the value that mattered most was not achievement, but caring.

Despite the significance that it holds in our lives, teaching children to care about others is no simple task. In an Israeli study of nearly 600 families, parents who valued kindness and compassion frequently failed to raise children who shared those values.

Are some children simply good-natured — or not? For the past decade, I’ve been studying the surprising success of people who frequently help others without any strings attached. As the father of two daughters and a son, I’ve become increasingly curious about how these generous tendencies develop.

Read more…..


		
Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

4 thoughts on “New York Times: Raising a Moral Child

    1. Thank you so much. I really appreciate your comment. I’ve been blogging on and off since I was in high school. This is the first time that I have wanted to actually blog ABOUT something, instead of just me.

      Also, I am sorry that I was unable to reply to you sooner. Your post was caught in my spam filter.

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

