Posted in ADHD Solutions, Family, Improving Self, Parenting

Improving Self: Virtue

Dearest Readers,

You may have seen the category (and possibly tag) called “Improving Self.” This particular category is me trying to improve myself in various ways to become a better person–character improvement.

Much of this has developed because my own child’s behavior needs to be improved too. I am certain that some of his behavior is mimicked due to seeing Mommy (and Daddy) when I get upset or frustrated. Children learn a great deal in those first years of life by doing what the people around them do, mimic–they are very visual and kinetic learners. I figure if I can improve my own behavior then my own preschooler will improve their behavior too.

The aspect, darling Readers, that I need assistance from you is the amount of time to focus on each virtue: weekly, every two weeks, or monthly?

I am, at least initially, thinking weekly on each virtue but maybe longer since I want my son to pick up on this behavior too. I know it takes–for an adult–between, I believe, 17 to 21 times before something will become a habit–unsure if it is the same for children.

Alternatively, I could rotate the virtues to focus on each week, but how  many virtues to work on before beginning again. Just to clarify if I did this alternative as stated, I would work on one virtue, such as patience, for one week and do another virtue for a week (e.g. week 2: kindness; week 3: love; week 4: justice; week 5: diligence), then start over again with, for this example, patience.

Please select while one you think is best for the amount of time to focus on each virtue:

(How to do I get the poll to center?!)

I need you, the Followers of “The Controlled Kaleidoscope,” to place complete the above poll and/or comment on this post with what you think (i.e. recommendations, opinions). I greatly appreciate your continued interest, time, and dedication to this lil’ ol’ blog. I look forward to hearing (and reading) from ALL of you. Thank you so much!

Faithfully yours,

Laili

 

 

 

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

