Posted in Faith (Bahá'i)

Feast of Ázamát (Greatness or Grandeur)

Readers,

The month of Ázamát (Arabic: greatness or grandeur) is the fourth month of the Baha’i calendar and year, which consists of nineteen months with nineteen days in each month. The feast of Ázamát actually begins the sunset of May 16th. Bahá’i days begin at sunset of the previous day. This does leave 4 days (or 5 days on a leap year) open and called Intercalary days or Ayyam-i-há (Days of Ha’ = Essence of God).

All names for all nineteen months are attributes of God:

The Bahá'i Calendar
Please click on the image for more information on the Bahá’i (Badí) Calendar.

Each month is a community gathering, or feast, of spiritual devotion, community business, and social (food) gathering.

Intercalary Days (Ayyam-i-há), as stated above, is a 4 (or 5) day celebration of gift giving, charity, and hospitality as preparation for the annual nineteen day Fast in the month of Álá (Loftiness)–no eating or drinking from sunrise to sunset for those between the ages of 15 and 70, as long as they are medically able, not traveling long distances, or required to do daily physical labor.

All Bahá’is are required to set aside time during the Fast for prayers and meditation on top of the required daily morning and nightly  readings, and daily obligatory prayer.

It may seem like a lot to do but it is not. We are to read holy scripture and writings, daily, and say one of the three obligatory prayers as instructed. I say the short or noonday obligatory prayer, which is to be said between noon and sunset:

I bear witness, O my God, that Thou hast created me to know Thee and to worship Thee.  I testify, at this moment, to my powerlessness and to Thy might, to my poverty and to Thy wealth. There is none other God but Thee, the Help in Peril, the Self-Subsisting.”

This is an important aspect of my life. I am trying to continually educate myself on the history, reasoning, and fundamentals of my way of life, my faith, my religion: The Bahá’i Faith. I hope y’all found the information interesting or useful.

I always look forward hearing from you, dearest Readers. Please feel free to leave a comment on this post or use the Contact Me page. Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you enjoyed the post.

Cordially yours,

Laili

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

