Posted in Education, Writing

Ethics

Readers,

I taking Business Ethics and found the following quote so true that I had to share it.

Learning to care is essential to my ability to take my place in the community. The community, in insisting that its members develop a capacity to care, helps both the individuals and the larger community in the process.

(Liedtka, Jeanne M. “Feminist Morality and Competitive Reality.” Business Ethics Quarterly, 1996: Vol. 6, Issue 2. PDF.)

The above quote actually is discussing a version of virtue ethics or ethics of care while focusing on feminist ethics. It’s actually the ability to apply ethics to business and how. I find it fascinating. I just wish I was not such a slow, comprehensive reader.

This particular course is the reason for my lack or rather posting less often.  I apologize about that.

What are you view on ethics and applying it to business? Do you think that it is possible for a business to be ethical in its decisions? What kind of ethics should or could be applied? Utilitarianism, ethical relativism, virtue ethics (ethics of care), feminist ethics, principle-based ethics, or perhaps another form I may not be familiar with. How would it be applied in a business setting?

I would love to hear from you. Please let me know what you think and where you’re from! I know every culture has different views and interested to see the differences from around the world.

Good night,

Laili

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

2 thoughts on “Ethics

  1. You might also look into Catholic Social Doctrine – it has a great deal about business ethics in it and was one of the earliest attempts to address business ethics as it related to manufacturing in the 19th century. jp

    Like

Would love to hear from you!

