Posted in Writing

The Giver, now and then

Readers,

I have a love-hate relationship with this book by Lois Lowry. I had to read it for school and just identified so well with Jonas at the time.

Ok, actually, I LOVE this book. I hate the ending. I love the entire journey this book brings to its readership and the amazing way the Author describes everything. It is so easy to see and understand, being able to identify with Jonas. I have not read it in a long, long time. It was a book that changed me.

It was years later, actually, that I found out a supposed to ending that Jonas and Gabriel did die. It burned me so badly, until I found out that the Ms. Lowry wrote a sequel to The Giver entitled Messenger.

The ambiguous ending made me hope that Jonas and Gabriel lived, despite everything they went through. I do not know how else to say it. I WANTED them to live. 

It is amazing to me the difference a book can make in someone’s life and perception of themselves

Now, there is a moving coming out of this life-changing book with the same title, The Giver. I am very interested in seeing how they portray it. I hope the author had a good saying in it, to keep with the same concepts in the book. 

Yes, I want to see it when it comes out August 15th. I am still unsure if I will or not.

~Laili

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

