Posted in Family, Life, Parenting, Writing

A classic example of human nature

Readers,

Are you a parent? How have your children shown to be their own person making their own plans without you? Mine does all the time.

The other night my four year-old son (about to turn five) awoke in the pre-dawn hours wanting me to go lay with him to get him back to sleep. I try very hard not to lay down on his bed especially in the middle of the night; I will just fall asleep on his bed until either a) I awake in pain from not moving on his full size bed the entire time (it’s a very firm bed for me) or b) I’ll sleep through the remainder of the night, which means I won’t get actual restful sleep and be very stiff.

I did everything I normally do to get him back to sleep (admittedly, I didn’t sing to him since I am recovering from a sinus infection and sound like a horse trying to sing right now). I even got my phone where I have a Spotify playlist of a Fisher Price album from Nick Lachey entitled “A Father’s Lullaby” (my son passes out in mere minutes from the music) which I normally just use to get him to fall asleep at bedtime. Normally, I can hold his hand and kneel (or sit) on the floor waiting for him to pass out.

My son’s actions in the midst of the night seems so contradictory of him. During the day, my son is very independent and wants to do whatever he wants to do when he wants to do it, especially if it means watching his tv shows, movies, or playing games with/and sitting in Mommy’s lap or cuddling with Daddy.

As you can see in the above paragraphs, in the night, he is very much the same in doing what he wants; however, he favors Mommy at night. It’s just a form of soothing and relaxation for him. The downfall is I don’t get restful sleep and/or have joint pain from it. I haven’t quite figured out how to get him to self-sooth, besides watching the Sprout channel before bed for no more than an hour, then I’ll hold his hand and play music or sing to him (so long as I’m not sick).

Currently, the reason this is all occurring is because he is in the middle of a growth spurt so his body chemistry is changing which always messes with his sleep. I’m just glad he isn’t waking in the night screaming from growing pains.  When he gets growing pains, he won’t even try rubbing his own knee or leg and wants me to do it. He has trained me well because I do it after, like, 5-10 minutes of squabbling unless I’ve given him ibuprofen. He just will suffer waiting for the medicine to kick in; however, a few extra minutes of whining makes me end up rubbing his leg anyway. sighs

I love parenthood. I love having a son and watching him grow up and learn. Watching those “ah-ha” moments are the most amazing thing ever to me. I try to supplement his education at home but being tired when I get home does not make it easy to do stuff with him. My son is just full of energy (just like I was at that age).

The reason for the post title is I feel like children are misunderstood by (new) parents. They have their own opinions and personalities in the womb, not after like it was once thought. They are not blank slates to mold as you please. My child while in utero flipped from head up to head down (getting birth ready) in a matter of 8-10 hours as I slept (surprisingly), which is a reflection of his personality: once my son makes up his mind, it is difficult to change without evidence and/or logic (just like his Daddy).

Moms. Dads. Sisters. Brothers. Grandma. Grandpa. Does this sound familiar? Please feel free to share your stories in the comments of this post. You are also welcome to use the Contact Me page to send it to only me and I usually reply back within 24 – 48 hours. I look forward hearing from you. Have a lovely day.

Sincerely yours,

Laili

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

2 thoughts on “A classic example of human nature

    1. That is just wonderful and glad to hear. I really enjoyed your latest post too.

      Children are amazing and so inquisitive at such young ages. It’s also amazing what children do and do not understand before the age of two years old.When my son was just a few months old, we would put him in a bouncy/rocker seat that had two toys: a colorful snail that rattled and I think a worm that when you pulled on it, would play “twinkle, twinkle little star.” He would have such conversations with that snail at times. You could hear him speaking gibberish and looking at the snail so focused. I have no idea what their conversations were about but it was interesting to watch his chubby face.

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

