Posted in Family, Life, Poems

Ten years together

I miss being in love
That whole body happiness and excitement from the tips of my toes to the top of my head
Oh, how I miss that zing when we kissed
I miss that need we both had to touch each other
Hold hands
Cuddle
Able to sit silently
No need to talk
just being in each other’s presence was enough
I miss falling asleep in his arms

As much as I miss that
I don’t mind that it’s not there as much
I am more than in love with him
I am devoted
content
dedicated
satisfied
Loyal
He is my Keeper
And I am his

He does not leave me wanting
Ever
He listens and understands
like those who have known me all my life
Sometimes better

I listen and lovingly care for his vulnerabilities and worries
Keeping all his secrets
Just as he keeps mine
There is nothing to hide between us
We have known and experienced each other at our best and worst
There seems to be little left to learn about the other
All that seems left is to experience life together
Work through new situations and circumstances together
The best we can

Doing your best is all anyone can ask for
It’s all I ask of him
It’s all he asks of me
I am not always very good at giving that back
I wish I knew why
at work, it is so easy but at home, it is not

When needed, our relationship dynamic shifts and changes
We adapt
We always talk
We always work it out
Patience is not always easy to give
But it is when it is needed

I love him
My love for him is so much deeper than any other love I have known,
Save God

The love for our son is different
As it should be
There is nothing my child could do to make me not love him
Nothing
Sometimes that scares me

It scares me because
that is how I feel about my husband too
It is not something I normally dwell on
It just pops in my head once in a while
I don’t know why that happens
I will panic
even knowing that it is not true
But plan a contingency anyway
Anxiety is not a friend of nine

I am loyal
I am almost unconditionally loyal
Betrayal (or lies) has to occur several times in deeper degrees or numerous times for me to walk away
It may take me a while
But…

IMG_1492.JPG

It took me many years to learn the difference
and when it is ok to give up
As much as some people seek you out to talk
Talking does not mean resolution-seeking
Talking can be enable
Fix the problem
not aid someone to endure it
However
They need to ask for a solution before the problem can be fixed
Asking for help is not easy
Even for those who are in love
It is something learned and worked on to understand through the years
Some things are so easy to understand
Others are not and have to either be straight-up told
Or learned from experience
Not everyone knows themselves well enough to explain their behaviors to you

I love him more than myself
I am unsure how he compares to our son
While my love is different for each of them, you cannot ask me, “Who do you love more?”
I could never decide
Never

I want my future to be with him
I want our future to always be together
I love him
Every day, I love him more and deeper
One day, my love for him will be a part of my DNA
And all future children will automatically love him the moment they hear his voice or see his eyes

I have never felt this way before
I am unsure if I could again
Except for him
Always him

(C) All rights reserved 2014

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

3 thoughts on “Ten years together

Would love to hear from you!

