Posted in Challenges, Co-Morbities, Health and Wellness, Improving Self, Life

Obstructive Sleep Apnea and Cpap

Obstructive Sleep Apnea is when sleeping you stop breathing or have extremely shallow breathing which doesn’t allow enough oxygen to be acquired usually by your palate somehow leaning downward or tongue having fallen back a bit towards the throat; thereby, blocking needed airflow

Cpap is actually a machine that creates a “continuous positive airflow pressure” by blowing humidified air into your nose/mouth to make sure you get the oxygen you need while you sleep. Cpaps work for about 85-90% of all users. Surgery is a 50/50 shot of working.

I got a new mask this past week that covers nose and mouth–no  irritations. Just working on figuring out how tight/loose the straps need to be while I sleep. I do move around some in my sleep and having air escape around the mask wakes me up. 

I still awaken groggy and sluggish, but once I get moving around, I wake up surprisingly quick. That’s new for me. Heart rate is calming down and doesn’t jump much, which is nice. It’s a definite improvement. 

I went and had consult with an ENT (ear, nose, and throat doctor) who mentioned that I have a large tongue which is falling back and obstructing my airflow, but with my medical history that surgery is not an option and just keep doing what I’m doing as long as it’s working. 

Who knew?! I have a large tongue. The human body is weird.

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

