Posted in Life

The beginning of the hot sidewalk days

O Lovely readers,

I remember my first real summer when I was four or five years old and in northern Mississippi. I was born in the summer and always celebrated my birthday then. My first real summer that I can remember, oh, it was so much fun.

I ran around everywhere barefoot and would get lost in the woods at the back of my house. There were rarely neighbor kids but the landlords who lived next store had grandkids that would come over frequently. I would play with them. 

I can still remember the smell of warm sun showers (rain) on hot asphalt and concrete. I would dance in the rain feeling the wet, soft grass between my toes. I would let the sun dry me out as I played more outside.

Some days, it would be 120% humidity and didn’t rain. It was extremely muggy and warm. Those were water days. I would run through the sprinklers, drinking from the hose, and water balloon fights, usually with my siblings.

I was a very carefree child. I miss those days where you just enjoyed everything around you. Do you?

–Laili

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

