Posted in Depression and Anxiety, Growing Up, songs that define me

Songs that define me: Not Pretty Enough by Kasey Chambers

Video:

Lyrics:

is my heart too broken

Do I cry too much

Am I too outspoken
Don’t I make you laugh

Should I try it harder

Why do you see right through me
I live, I breathe, I let it rain on me,

I sleep, I wake, I try hard not to break,

I crave, I love, I’ve waited long enough

I try as hard as I can
Am I not pretty enough

is my heart too broken

Do I cry too much

Am I too outspoken
Don’t I make you laugh

Should I try it harder

Why do you see right through me
I laugh, I feel, I make believe it’s real

I fall, I freeze, I pray down on my knees

I hope, I stand, I take it like a man

I try as hard as I can
Am I not pretty enough

is my heart too broken

Do I cry too much

Am I too outspoken
Don’t I make you laugh

Should I try it harder

Why do you see right through me
why do you see

why do you see

why do you see right through me
why do you see

why do you see right through me
why do you see

why do you see

why do you see right through me
why do you see

why do you see

why do you see right through me

I discovered this secret gem of honesty and self-doubt as a teenager; it was a song that I  related to instantly. “Not Pretty Enough” has been a reminder since that no one is perfect and that is ok. We are not meant to be perfect but we are human. We all matter. No one is invisible or not worth the time. While it can be difficult to love the world as one human family, that is one of the best ways to improve and better the world. 

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

Would love to hear from you!

