Posted in Challenges, Co-Morbities, depression, Depression and Anxiety, Family, Life, Mental Health, Parenting, Reblog

Postpartum Depression: the Silent Battle 

I came across this story on my Facebook: http://herviewfromhome.com/new-mom-takes-her-own-life-after-silent-battle-with-postpartum-depression-why-all-of-us-must-share-her-friends-plea/

It reminded me of my own issues. I suffered from depression prior to my son’s birth–family history–and it only worsened after he got here. It did remind me how ashamed I felt about my feelings of apathy towards everything else but my son, surprisingly. I know others who have had postpartum depression and it can be so difficult to deal with, especially if you’ve never really been depressed, sans adolescent years. 

Please read and know depression, no matter when or why the cause, is a battle

Depression lies. It tells you know one cares but that isn’t true. It tells you how terrible you are but if you were terrible, why would you have friends and family want to talk or hang out with you? Why would you matter so much? Actions speak louder than words. 

There is so much help available and affordable. It isn’t always easy to find but just ask, and you will get the help you need. 

Stay strong;

Laili
Image: all rights reserved (c) Laili B. 2016.

Author:

I am a job seeker. I am looking for a position in a fast pace office setting that is seeking a loyal, dedicated, quick learner who wants to help and improve those around them.

5 thoughts on “Postpartum Depression: the Silent Battle 

    1. I completely understand. It does seem to be doubly so. It is not easy to deal with depression in any of its incarnations. No one prepares you for it either. No one wants to discuss the negatives to pregnancy or mental illness, especially in the USA where people love to sue for everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I get it. I just wrote an article on wordpress about depression and suicide and I am sure most will not agree with all of it. But they are my experiences and perceptions after going through it. The thing is, doing exactly what you are doing – talk about it. Even if all our experiences isn’t the same that is okay.

        Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

