Writing 101, Day 5: Be Brief

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

Walking along the sidewalk, something shiny caught my eye. As I began towards it, I realized it was a crumbled up, glossy sky blue piece of paper. Carelessly, someone tossed this beautifully hued paper on the ground. I hate it when people litter. I wonder if they read it, I think to myself. I picked it up, smoothing it out the best I can to find nothing on that initial side. I turn it over to find…

“My Darling Daughter,” Instant pang of pain cut within my heart thinking of my Mother who died three years ago.  Continuing to read this small note, “Remember you are different than anyone else for a reason. A good reason. Find that reason and run with it. Love you, Mom.” All throughout my life, people have always told me that I am weird or strange. I have always known that I am different and have ran with it.

I found myself smiling rereading this simple, powerful piece of beautiful sky-colored paper. This is something that my own Mother would say. I wondered why they threw it away. My eyebrows furrowed together staring off in front of me as I thought, Maybe she’s like me.
Their Mother died too.
I nodded and my face calmed down, It hurts so much sometimes to find things when someone has passed. Looking back down at the words and spoke aloud, “Or to reread it.”

Would love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.